Wise Words

February 20, 2012

“Activists have to have a spiritual practice in order to help them to suffer less, to nourish the happiness and to handle the suffering so they will be effective in helping the world. With anger and frustration you cannot do much.”

– Thich Nhat Hanh

β€Ž”We can let the circumstances of our lives harden us so that we become increasingly resentful and afraid, or we can let them soften us and make us kinder and more open to what scares us. We always have this choice.”

– Pema Chodron

 

I’ve been trying to find compassion for woman-haters here lately. It’s not easy.

Spring

 

2 Responses to “Wise Words”


  1. πŸ™‚ Two things…

    1. For finding compassion I offer a book recommendaion: “The Lost Art of Compassion” by Lorne Ladner. I’m midway through and relishing it.

    2. I nominated you for a blog award on my blog because I think you’re fabulous.

  2. okiefeminist Says:

    Thank you SO MUCH, Lunar! I love book recommendations as much as I love compliments πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

