May’s To Read List

May 6, 2011

My list of books to read for the merry, merry month of May:

  • Take the Cannoli: Stories From the New World by Sarah Vowell $
  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales by Oliver Sacks $
  • Battle Royale by Koushun Takami $
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace $
  • Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff $
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey $

In no particular order.

Have you read any of these, my smart friends? If so, what did you think?

Also, what are you reading this month?

10 Responses to “May’s To Read List”

  1. carly Says:

    I want to read the man who mistook his wife and bossy pants. Will you let us know what you think of them? I want to read Ms. Odell and Keith Richards memoir. I’m making a trip to the library next week!

  2. okiefeminist Says:

    I am reading The Man Who Mistook HIs Wife for a science book club that I joined. And yes, I will tell you what I think. I’m debating which books I want to purchase and which ones I want to check out from the library. I’m always over my book budget, and I have no more empty shelf room. But, but, but… books are my friends. The more, the merrier. Oh, the frustrations of being a nerd!

  3. Vicki Says:

    I DEVOURED “Bossypants”… And just started “Infinite Jest” yesterday!
    Great list!

  4. Carly Says:

    You should definitely read the immortal life of Henrietta lacks for a science book club!

  5. Adam Says:

    I like the Sacs, thought Battle Royale was just alright and love Infinite Jest with my whole heart. It’s long and sometimes frustrating, but for people alive when and how we are, I think it’s the best thing.

    The best books I’m reading right now are
    There Is No Year by Blake Butler and Fanged Noumena by Nick Land. I’m also working through Lynne Tillmann’s everything. She’s fantastic.


  6. I’ve read several of Oliver Sack’s books. I liked it. There’s a blogger fella blogging about his experience reading Infinite Jest. I haven’t read it, but last week I read my first essay by David Forster Wallace and I enjoyed it, but he misused the word “vomitorium,” which disturbed me on multiple levels.

    Currently, I’m reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Lacuna and loving it more than anything else I’ve read in the past year. I’m in the process of compiling my summer reading list.

  7. Michael Says:

    I’ve been reading for exams–nine books since last Sunday. All interesting. Atonement by Ian McEwan, The Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall, The White Hotel by D. M. Thomas, and various theory/criticism. Next up is Lost in the Funhouse by John Barth and some point soon, Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin.

    I haven’t read Infinite Jest, but I am re-reading The Broom of the System for my exams. He does some interesting things in the novel with language theory and playing on place and character. It’s on my metafiction/postmodern literature list.

  8. Eden Hemming Says:

    I haven’t read any of those. Finally allowed myself to read something not-for-the-thesis and devoured a Cadfael book. Pretty soon, it’s back to Analyzing Activity Areas by Susan Kent (I dare you to recommend that for your science book club!).


Leave a Reply

