Hi, I’m from Oklahoma. I’m Scared Shitless of Nukes.

March 16, 2011

Seriously, I don’t want to over-react or be all alarmist. I’m not about to say anything that other people haven’t already said. But I’m scared shitless about the problems of nuclear enery and the problems at several of Japan’s nuclear facilities right now.  By the way, I prefer to go to the IAEA website for reliable news updates concerning events in Japan. They seem to turn up the scientific reporting, and turn down the alarm/ fear/ capitalist/ US-centric rhetoric.

And you see, back when I found out during the 2010 presidential campaign that Obama was cool with the nukes, it was the one thing that left a suspicion of him in my mind that never faded. And so it accordingly stressed me out when I heard him defending nuclear energy yesterday, but it stressed me out even more to hear about Obama and his administration’s pushing ahead to build NEW nuclear plants.

I couldn’t agree more with Robert Scheer in his piece, No Nukes Is Good Nukes. I feel relieved that really smart people are as disturbed by this energy source as I am.  The thing is, I don’t just think that the waste produced by creating nuclear power is bad for people, I think it’s kinda the worst thing that has ever existed on the bad-for-the-planet scale. And it damages everything: land, water, animals, seeds, mature plants, rocks. Everything. In a FOREVER damaged kind of way. Go read Ceremony by Leslie Marmon Silko. Or listen to and watch Winona LaDuke talk.

Even in the middle of nowhere on the fertile plains of Oklahoma, I’m scared.

Spring

10 Responses to “Hi, I’m from Oklahoma. I’m Scared Shitless of Nukes.”

  1. Courtney Says:

    I’m scared, too. Yesterday I was completely depressed and believing that we can talk about this issue, but it doesn’t even matter what we say anymore–we’ve let this poison in and it is not going anywhere. Today I’m less depressed, but I almost fully believe that we are fucked. Not that I think that’s a reason to give up. It’s just astounding to me how much care we aren’t giving to nuclear waste–it’s so risky.

  2. honey Says:

    Hi Spring,

    I came across your blog a few weeks ago and have enjoyed your choice in topics and youthful perspective.
    Have you ever read Conquest: Sexual Violence and American Indian Genocide by Andrea Smith? I don’t know your whole story, but I’ve taken away that you care about Native issues and aren’t Native yourself–which I appreciate. I imagine you’ve come across the book, but in the off-chance you haven’t, it’s seems right in line with your interests. I mention it because there is a section in the book dedicated to environmental racism as a form of sexual violence and speaks to the ramifications of nuclear energy and testing on and near indigenous peoples.
    If you’ve already read it, I’d enjoy hearing your thoughts!

    • okiefeminist Says:

      Honey,

      How sweet of you to spend the time sharing such kind words! I have not read the book by Andrea Smith, but I will check it out. The authors that I mentioned in this post (especially LaDuke) have also talked and written extensively about environmental racism. Also, living in Oklahoma, I have been aware of specifically how industrial waste effects Native populations. I’m thinking of the damage done to Ponca citizens by the carbon black industry. (The Ponca Tribe and other landowner affected by carbon black pollution ended up winning their lawsuit against the polluting company: http://www.lannan.org/lf/ic/legal-rights/ponca-tribe-oklahoma/)

      Anyway, I look forward to reading the book you recommended! And thanks for reading and, again, for your comment!

  3. beamish Says:

    http://xkcd.com/radiation/

    Found this link on Neatorama. Here’s how they explain the graphic found there:

    “With all the bad news of the nuclear reactor incident in Fukushima, Japan, it’s hard to get a handle of exactly how much radiation is bad.

    Randall Munroe of XKCD created what is probably the most informative chart about the different doses of radiation you get from various activities of life, from sleeping next to someone to flying over the USA to getting a chest X-ray and more.”

  4. beamish Says:

    Also, a good place to get up-to-date, reliable information on nuclear issues is WNN, the World Nuclear News: http://www.world-nuclear-news.org/aboutwnn.html

  5. okiefeminist Says:

    also, here’s a current domestic issue to keep your eyes on: http://www.stltoday.com/news/national/article_ba0e010c-e44d-5b6a-8d9c-ffca6ce54c66.html

  6. beamish Says:

    yeah, me too. just wanted to share the materials i’ve been looking at lately that gave me some context for current, global nuclear issues. i’m reminded too now (after re-reading the post and honey’s comment) of a documentary i watched as an undergrad about environmental racism, dump sites and their proximity to rural and impoverished communities, etc. i’ll try to find it…


Leave a Reply

