I Desire Patriotic Jewelry

March 26, 2010

Just in case you are one of the few individuals left on Earth who thought I was cool (hi Mom!), I’m here today to let you know that I am not. I’m a big ole nerd, and I totally want this:

constitution bracelet

It’s a bracelet crated by metalsmith Tinahdee and engraved with the entire Preamble to the Constitution of the United States of America!!! OMG!!!

Even though some of the authors of the Preamble to the Constitution mainly thought of white, land-owning men as “the people,” I’m glad to know that words evolve and societies evolve, and now we live in an America where we are all “the people!” Aren’t you? We are all people, even those of us who are new to this country, like immigrants who aren’t yet citizens. I don’t know why, but I was a bit surprised to see these words by George Washington:

The bosom of America is open to receive not only the Opulent & respectable Stranger,
but the oppressed & persecuted of all Nations & Religions;
whom we shall wellcome to a participation of all our rights & previleges.

That was part of his address to Irish Immigrants on December 2, 1783.  Eh, so he (or the guy who wrote it) spelt privileges incorrectly? Who among us is perfect? Anyway, I’m totally saving up to buy this bracelet, and I think it’s gonna catch on in the fashion world. Patriotism’s so hot right now.

Yours in patriotism, fashion trends and person-hood,

Spring

2 Responses to “I Desire Patriotic Jewelry”

  1. beamish Says:

    awesome! metal art: so metal. love it.

  2. Sarah Hetherington Says:

    You’re rad.


Leave a Reply

