Political Love

January 27, 2009

I don’t ever want to be one of those people who mindlessly follows a charismatic leader wherever s/he may go. In fact, it is one of my faults, I think, that I am soooo skeptical.  I am usually the last of all my friends and colleagues to get excited about something popular, and my support of Barack came later than most other’s support of him.  That said, I have been watching President Obama pretty closely since he’s taken office, and I must say that I am blushingly satisfied with our current leadership!  Last week was a busy week, and for a very good overview of Obama’s actions during last week you should visit this Okie blog: Two-headed Blog.

Just a few of my favorite things that he and all his helpers have already done:

Supported equal pay! 

Supported women’s right to choose!

Put scientists in charge of scientific stuff 🙂

Made a new website including a blog

And now he diplomatically gives his first interview as president to an Arabic network!

La la la la la la la la la la la!

00208__bear_grass1

I am forever yours, skipping through a field of Oklahoma soap grass,

Spring

P.S. Please share with me your recent political loves/hates of late (especially the loves, cause I’ve had a long run of hates…)

9 Responses to “Political Love”


  1. Like a breath of fresh air. I supported early, way back when Obama gave the speech on race, and while I try not to get swept up in hype and remain level headed, I’m still simply overjoyed.

  2. Miz H Says:

    Way back in 2004, during the DNC, my redneck, country-fried, gun-toting, militantly liberal dad called me up and said “Baby, turn on yer TV. The first black president is speaking.”

  3. Courtney Says:

    I am adoring the Obamas, and yet I’m worried about the strike on Pakistan last Friday. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/27/us/politics/27web-sanger.html?hp

    It seems like no one in the administration is talking about the strike yet. I really just wish war would end and that no more innocent people were being killed. And I can’t help but feel a little put-off that this is flying under the radar.

  4. Michael Says:

    I love that you have been blogging a lot lately! Keep up the good work!

    I get a lot of political news from feministing so I tend be mostly informed about women’s issues. I would have to say that the biggest blow for me would Prop 8. I really just can’t get over it. I’m happy that Roe v. Wade celebrated another anniversary. I was very impressed with Hilary’s speed at the State Department last Thursday. And her replacement Gillibrand looks kinda promising.

  5. Daniel Says:

    I’m with you, Spring–I can’t help but look at a popular person/product/book/idea/etc with skepticism. Could be a holdover from my days at the reject table. 😉

    But I’ve been relishing all the good news coming from the White House. Ordering the closing of GITMO, shutting down secret prisons, banning torture, lifting the global abortion gag order–who *is* this man from Nazareth??

    Maybe the tongue-in-cheek detractors will have to eat their words before too long. He just *might* be the Messiah!

  6. spring Says:

    I just want to say to Michael that I was also very saddened by the passage of Prop 8. It is a slap in the face to civil rights. I will start putting more of my energy into supporting the LGBT community…it is just RIDICULOUS that LGBT people have been treated so badly and excluded from the rights that heterosexuals take for granted.

  7. Michael Says:

    http://www.feministing.com/archives/013422.html

    Check out this link. How fucking insane. This school has “the right” to expel lesbians. Not even real ones, just ones they think might actually be lesbians. Talk about a slap in the face.

    I totally need to get into more LGBT rights activism. I would really like to spend more time helping spread the word when it comes to some of these issues. I just find it so ridiculous some of the stuff that goes on. Seriously.

  8. Michael Says:

    Oh, by spreading the word, I don’t mean Jesus. I mean intelligent dialog and discussion on issues like freedom, acceptance, and difference.

  9. Carly Says:

    Take that George Bush!!! Obama has already far exceeded anything you did for the people in his short nine days as president than you ever did in your looooonnnngggg eight years!!! Go Obama!


Leave a Reply

